DATES

Welcome to the DofE dates page. Scroll down for upcoming dates.

Please keep dates free if you wish to do expeditions with your year group.

If you cannot do an expedition, please contact staff as soon as possible.

Please remember, to pass DofE expeditions RGS students need to …

1.Attend planning meets! Complete plans by deadlines and pass two expeditions i.e. training and qualifying.  

2.Complete the whole expedition! Late drop offs or early pick ups are not allowed.

3.Complete their previous awards! RGS DofE students must earn their Bronze Award to continue with Silver and must pass Silver to continue with Gold.

4.Carry their own equipment! Participants must be fit enough to carry their own kit to operate independently and safely. The transport of kit between camps is not provided for injured or ill participants. Participants who are injured or ill should do the expedition when they have recovered and are sufficiently fit and well to carry the essential kit. This rule is for the safety of everyone involved and is one of our conditions for starting a safe expedition. If participants are unable to carry their own kit due to illness or injury then please contact staff as soon as possible to discuss options.

If you have any questions about dates, please contact school dofe staff SAC or HTC.

Expedition schedule is similar each year

GOLD: Gold practice is at the end of the Summer term/start of summer holidays in early July. Gold qualifying is in Mid-August, between A Level and GCSE results days. GOLD expeditions are operated by our partners at Expeditions Wales. RGS staff are fully involved with organising, supervising and looking after groups.  Travel to and from expeditions is usually by coach and this is organised by DofE and included in the cost.

SILVER: practice expeditions in the Surrey Hills are after 4th Year internal exams in June; 5th year qualifying expeditions on the South Downs are through first weekend of October half term. Parents are responsible for drop offs and pick ups. Travel by train is recommended for the qualifying expedition.

BRONZE: practice expedition is through May bank holiday weekends; the Bronze qualifying expedition is in October activities day, usually the weekend before half term. All Bronze expeditions leave from RGS and end locally.

RGS students must finish Bronze to continue with Silver and must finish Silver to continue with Gold. Contact staff if you have any snags.

2021

Gold training day Thursday 7 January RGS – compulsory attendance to do Gold expeditions in 2021.

New Bronze parents information meeting online Tuesday 26 January 6-7pm.

Bronze expedition basic first aid training (new 3rd years) Tuesday March 2, 9, 16 and 23 4 – 5pm

Deadline for all summer expedition plans: Bronze, Silver and Gold 19 March 2021

U6 Gold qualifying expedition 27-31 March Mid-Wales. (mop-up 1)

To be confirmed: RGS Annual Award presentation evening 7 –  8pm Thursday 22 April 2021 PMH (Gold awardees and parents reception in Old Library from 6-7pm then to PMH) (successful participants will receive an invite to this event.  If you don’t receive an invite then you haven’t passed, yet.  Please contact me for more information before end of Spring term if you are unsure about your status.  Or look at this page to find out how to complete edofe: https://rgsdofe.org/edofe/ )

Bronze practice expeditions 3rd Year Sunday 2 May – Monday 3 May 2021

Bronze mop-up expedition Friday 28- Saturday 29 May 2021 (invite only) – this is not an open expedition.

SILVER practice expedition 4th Year Sunday 27 June – Tuesday 29 June 2021

GOLD HIKE practice expeditions L6th Year Thursday 1 July – Monday 5 July 2021 Brecon Beacons (end of term is 2 July)

GOLD HIKE qualifying expedition L6 and U6 Year Friday 13 August – Tuesday 17 August 2021: free lunch if you get to Borth before 1pm! Depart Borth by 2pm.

Bronze qualifying expeditions (4 year) Friday 8 October – Saturday 9 October 2021

Silver qualifying expedition (5 year) Saturday 16 October – Monday 18 October 2021

2022 – proposed date for guidance only

Thursday 6 January: gold training day. 

New Bronze parents information evening

Bronze practice Sunday 1 May – Monday 2 May  

Bronze mop-up Friday 27 May – Sat 28 May  

Silver practice Sunday 26 June – Tuesday 28 June   

Gold training Thursday 30 June – Monday 4 July

Gold qualifying Friday 12 Aug – Weds 17 Aug

Bronze qualifying Friday 7 Saturday 8 October  

Silver qualifying Saturday 15 Oct – Monday 17 Oct  

2023

Thursday 5 January: gold training day. 

New Bronze parents information evening date tbc

Bronze practice Sunday 30 April – Monday 1 May  

Bronze mop-up Friday 26 May – Sat 27 May  

Silver practice Sunday 25 June – Tuesday 27 June   

Gold training Thursday 29 June – Monday 3 July tbc??

Gold qualifying Friday 11 Aug – Weds 16 Aug

Bronze qualifying Friday 6 October – Saturday 7 October  

Silver qualifying Saturday 14 Oct – Monday 16 Oct  

Please remember that expeditions are not package holidays. Dates are subject to change.  Dates may have to go later, return earlier or alter or abandon trips entirely (e.g. Covid-19, foot n mouth, Storm Jude, flooding, storms etc…).  If dates change, we will let everyone know as soon as possible.  Please contact me for the latest updates on future hike dates before booking family holidays so you can avoid clashes. Thank you sac@reigategrammar.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s